All the king’s horses and all the king’s men…


Teapot

I’m a little teapot…

…couldn’t put back Humpty Dumpty (nor my favorite teapot) back together again.  I found this teapot when I lived in Chester, England…so it had special meaning for me.  It’s lived through several moved and has had a full life as a useful and often used teapot.  Let’s be clear – it didn’t just sit on a shelf and look pretty!

For me this was a small reminder of two core beliefs for me.

First, I like things that carry a story or meaning from my past – but I also value their usefulness.  I don’t want to live in a fragile “house museum” of beautiful things,  which are kept away from life here in the moment.

Second, even though I have some important items that I carry close to my heart, they are just things – transient, easily lost, broken or stolen.  So, while I still want to take care of them, I don’t want to be so attached to them that a broken teapot sends me over the edge.  There are far more important things to be concerned with — relationships, health, well being…life itself.  Physical items can be replaced.

I believe that holds even for other guests in my house.  Yes, I hope they respect (and use!) what’s here.  But, at the end of the day, if a favorite item breaks – it’s just a physical item, and not worth losing a lot of sleep over.  Again, I hope they will speak up and apologize for the damage,  But then, we move on – no drama, no yelling, no threats.  Life happens.  I’d rather enjoy the things I have, value their story, but not be so attached to them that I overreact if they’re gone.

So, I swept up Humpty Dumpty and my teapot…had a fond memory of my time in Chester, and the many times I’ve enjoyed tea from my favorite teapot…and moved on.  Life happens…

 

 

Published by

ctfuqua

At 42, my life is in transition. I have always been a “glass half full” sort of guy. Now more than ever I see life as full of possibilities and the world full of beautiful people possessing unique and often untapped talents. I’m a learner and connector, seeking ways to leverage the abundance in this world through strong community.

Leave a Reply

